Monday, September 15, 2014

The Hexed & Cut and Thrust

The Hexed coverI’ve been busy listening to audios, so I have two more interesting books to share with you today.

THE HEXED by Heather Graham

Author Heather Graham gives some insight into the Salem witch trials as she blends the past and present into a spine-tingling thriller in THE HEXED.

Narrator Luke Daniels does a superb job giving each character their own unique voice. His varied pace and inflection matches the tension in the story enhancing it.

Devin Lyle has moved back to the Salem area living in the cabin she inherited from her great-aunt Mina, who the locals sometimes called the ‘witch in the woods.’ Devin just wants peace and quiet to write her children’s books. But a strange sound one night leads her into the nearby woods where she finds a dead woman and her life changes forever.

Craig ‘Rocky’ Rockwell never got over finding a classmate dead in the woods when they were in high school. He went on to become a cop and has recently joined the Krewe of Hunters, a team of paranormal investigators working under the FBI.

The body Devin found is so similar to Rocky’s friend that he knows they’re connected even though it’s been over 10 years between the murders. As Rocky interviews Devin, he feels a connection and can even see her great-aunt Mina (something Devin has just learned she can do too). As the investigation continues, Rocky and Devin discover all their friends are possible suspects in the murders. After a third woman is found, Rocky fears Devin’s ancestry could cause her to be the next victim.

Combining the history of Salem with an intriguing storyline, Graham will have you believing in ghosts, witches and forever love. The characters are well-developed and likable. They story flows at a steady pace with twists, turns and a few red herrings (as well as a raven) along the way.

Graham’s eye for detail and vivid descriptions of the area places the reader/listener in the middle of Salem and its rich history. She incorporates romance, friendship, and moments of laugh-out-loud humor for a tantalizing story that will hold you spellbound until the end.

While THE HEXED is the 13th installment in the Krewe of Hunters series, it is a standalone story. Returning fans will be reunited with several members from previous adventures, but new readers/listeners won’t be left in the dark searching for missing clues.

Graham’s infusion of romance and humor with the paranormal keeps the story from being too dark while still stirring the flames of suspense and murder.

The Hexed by Heather Graham, The Krewe of Hunters Book #13, Performed by Luke Daniels, Brilliance Audio, @2014, ISBN: 978-1469221830, Unabridged, 8 Discs, Listening Time: 9 Hours and 35 Minutes 

FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.

CUT AND THRUST by Stuart Woods

Cut and Thrust coverMy love of audio books began many years ago listening on a cassette player to a story by author Stuart Woods where the protagonist was named Ed Eagle.

Ed, who has several books in his own series, is among the main players in CUT AND THRUST by Stuart Woods, the 30th installment in his Stone Barrington series. This time around Woods puts Barrington and Eagle in a story with the protagonists from yet another of his series featuring Will and Katherine Lee.

Narrator Tony Roberts does his usual wonderful job bringing the characters to life. He masters the cadence for all the characters from Stone to gruff Dino to the various female voices. His mannerisms enhance the story.

While Woods’ writing has mellowed a bit since that first audio I listened to, it’s always fun catching up with his characters – especially Stone Barrington.

In CUT AND THRUST the story focuses on Stone’s helping Kate Lee in her bid for the Democratic presidential nominee. A side story deals with Ed Eagle and the problems he continues to have concerning an ex-wife who is a bit over the edge. There’s not a lot of action or drama, but an unexpected and interesting twist at the end dealing with Ed’s ex.

For fans of Stone Barrington, Will and Katherine Lee, Ed Eagle and Stuart Woods, CUT AND THRUST is an entertaining addition you shouldn’t miss.

Cut and Thrust by Stuart Woods, Stone Barrington Novel Book #30, Performed by Tony Roberts, Penguin Audio, @2014, ISBN: 978-1611762822, Unabridged, 6 Discs, Listening Time: Approximately 7 Hours 

FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.

(NOTE: The first audio I listened to was SANTA FE RULES.)

Thanks so much for stopping by today. What do you have lined up to read or listen to? Doesn't the cover of THE HEXED just draw you in?

*Authors Carolyn Wolfe and Christopher Cloud were slated to be here today, but were unable to. Hopefully we can reschedule their visit at a later date.

**This post contains affiliate links.


  1. The Hexed looks right up my alley. A perfect read for Halloween.

  2. Mason - Thanks for sharing these. It is interesting how the audio experience can shed a whole new light on a book. I honestly don't listen to a lot of novels myself, 'though I've experienced some that way. Maybe I should try it more often...

  3. can't be easy sharing your name with an actress... nobody will find you on Google :(

  4. The cover of The Hexed does look amazing! I have always found the Salem Witch trials to be fascinating.

  5. This looks like a good read. I've always thought it would be horrible to be accused of being a witch in earlier times.

    I like the show Bewitched which has nothing to do with the Salem witch trials.

    I can't remember the last audio book I listened to, but I like audio books for the car.

  6. The Hexed sounds like a book I would enjoy!

  7. Given I live in Salem and am currently writing a story with a Wiccan character set here, The Hexed sounds more than a little intriguing!

    VR Barkowski

    1. VR, I thought you when I was listening to The Hexed. It is definitely a book I think you'd like.

  8. Both of these sound good! It's a great time to read a book set in Salem :) I haven't read a Stuart Woods book in a long time. Maybe it's time I checked him out again.


I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.