Thursday, July 30, 2015

Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones

Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones - Narrated by Lorelei King - Thoughts in ProgressTales involving the Grim Reaper can be scary, hilarious and unpredictable if New York Times Bestselling Author Darynda Jones is telling them.

Narrator Lorelei King does a masterful job bringing the Grim Reaper (aka Charlie Davidson) to life in EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK, the eighth installment in the Charlie Davidson series by Jones. King gives very distinct voices to the assortment of characters. Her varied inflection and volume matches the tension and high jinx throughout the story. King’s pacing is perfect. She’ll have you believing there’s more than one narrator.

Fleeing from 12 hellhounds, Charlie and her close group of friends and family have relocated to an abandoned convent. There she’s awaiting the birth of her daughter who is prophesized to do battle with Satan (who is also her grandfather on her father’s side).

Charlie is unable to leave the consecrated grounds of the convent. If she does, she’ll endure the wrath of the hellhounds. Her confinement, however, doesn’t stop her from working cases or getting into trouble.

When her daughter is born, Charlie quickly realizes everything (and everyone) is not exactly as it seems. She’s faced with some of the toughest decisions she’s ever had to make. The Grim Reaper may be a mother now, but she’s still got to play hard ball with demons and other worldly creatures.

The author has a mesmerizing way of making Charlie’s paranormal world seem real. She has created characters that are likable and realistic with a few hidden talents.

The story moves at a quick pace and flows smoothly from beginning to end. The action is hard hitting and breathless, even as laughter is mingled throughout.

This is the eighth installment in the series and readers can listen/read it as a standalone. While new readers/listeners won’t be lost not having knowledge of prior installments, it is a much better story if the series is read/listened to in order. Fans of the series will enjoy that this installment ends preparing for Charlie’s next adventure.

Twelve hellhounds and Satan himself is no match for the Grim Reaper when she becomes a mom.

Author Darynda Jones’s website is HERE.

Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones, Charlie Davidson Series Book #8, Narrated by Lorelei King, Macmillan Audio, @2015, ISBN: 978-1427261069, Unabridged, 8 Discs, Run Time: 9 Hours 

FTC Full Disclosure – A copy of this audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.

Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you find EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK as enjoyable as I did. This is a fun series I’ve enjoyed from the beginning. Do you have a series you enjoy that you just can’t wait for the next installment? Are you a fan of Charlie Davidson?

*This post contains affiliate links


  1. The grim reaper is a mother - I can see how that would lead to some humor.
    The title of the book would make a great title for a television series featuring this character.

    1. Alex, this would indeed make a great television series though I'm not sure who I see as Charlie. All of the titles in this series have been fun.

  2. Oh, yes, Mason, I've heard of this series! I always think it's interesting when authors innovate like that; it's not easy to make the Grim Reaper an interesting character after all! Thanks for sharing.

    1. Margot, until I came across this series I never imagined the Grim Reaper as anything but scary and very serious. Darynda makes the Grim Reaper a likeable character with great wit.

  3. Oooh. Tempting. Very tempting.
    I really enjoy reading a different perspective on familiar stories. Thank you.


I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.