Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Hard Red Spring {+ Giveaway}

There are so many wonderful books published daily it’s hard to keep up. I’m always delighted when I can tell you about an upcoming release like the one I have today.

HARD RED SPRING (Viking; On sale: March 29) by Kelly Kerney is an ambitious and unforgettable novel that takes readers through a hundred years of Guatemala’s turbulent and violent history—as experienced by four American women caught in the cultural and political currents of their adopted land, and linked by the mysterious disappearance of a little girl. This impressive historical novel is perfect for readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Isabel Allende, and Julia Alvarez.

Thanks to Emma and the wonderful folks at Viking/Penguin Books, I have a copy of HARD RED SPRING to giveaway to one lucky visitors. Please see the end of the post for more details. 

HARD RED SPRING brilliantly reveals how the harsh realities of history play out in the lives of individuals. Kelly’s gorgeous prose paints a vivid picture of Guatemala—a place of untamed beauty and resilient people that bears the scars of brutal dictatorships and disastrous American intervention. 

Here’s a synopsis of HARD RED SPRING:
1902: Eight-year-old Evie Crowder watches as her parents work in vain to keep their fledgling wheat farm going. Far from their New York home, the Crowder’s struggle against corrupt government officials and inscrutable natives, both of whom have little time for Americans who think that buying cheap Guatemalan land entitles them to any rights. When her parents mysteriously disappear, Evie’s fate hangs in the balance and her legacy will haunt the Land of Eternal Spring for decades to come.

1954: Dorie, wife of the American Ambassador, is entangled in an affair that puts her in the center of the multi-national fight for control of Guatemala. With her husband actively involved in the CIA’s covert operation to topple President Jacobo Arbenz, Dorie desperately wants to flee with her lover, Tomás. Tomás’s loyalties, however, are split between Dorie and his employer, United Fruit—the real source of money and power in Guatemala.

1983: Lenore Beasley was called by God to be a missionary in Guatemala. Or, more accurately, she was called by Pat Robertson to join President Ríos Montt’s drive to bring his country to Christ. Lenore and her husband Dan move into a model village with instructions to baptize the droves of resettled Mayans. As Lenore becomes involved with an enigmatic blue-eyed Indian woman, her faith in God and the mission begin to flag, putting her dangerously at odds with the armed militia controlling the village. 

1999: Single mom Jean takes her adopted daughter Maya on a Roots Tour of Guatemala, hoping the trip will heal their fractured relationship. Jean wants to ground her teenager in history, but she also wants validation that taking Maya from her homeland was the right thing to do. The trauma Jean thought was in their past, however, confronts them with full force. In the middle of a nation trying to heal after decades of war, Jean also finds her own fraught path to healing.


Author Kelly Kerney
Kelly Kerney’s first novel, Born Again, was listed among the best debuts of the year by Kirkus Reviews, was a Book Sense Pick, and was recognized by the New York Public Library as one of the best books of 2006. 

A Virginia Commission for the Arts fellowship recipient, she lives in Richmond, Virginia. 

You can connect with Kelly on Goodreads.


Thanks to Emma and the wonderful folks at Viking/Penguin Books, I have a print copy of HARD RED SPRING by Kelly Kerney to giveaway. The giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. only and will end at 12 a.m. (EST) on Wednesday, March 16.

To enter the giveaway, just click on the Rafflecopter widget below and follow the instructions. The widget may take a few seconds to load so please be patient. A winner will be selected by the Rafflecopter widget and I’ll send an email with the subject line “Thoughts in Progress Giveaway.” The winner will have 72 hours to reply to the email or another winner will be selected. PLEASE be sure to check your spam folder from time to time after the giveaway ends to make sure the notification email doesn’t end up there. If you win and you’ve already won the book somewhere else or you just decided for whatever reason you don’t want to win (which is fine), once again PLEASE let me know.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. How do you keep up with all the books published?


  1. Hi Mason - this looks a really good and interesting read - giving us an idea of Guatemalan historical life ... I've added it to my wish list ... cheers Hilary

  2. I don't keep up with all of the books published. I can't keep up.
    All I can do is keep reading. As a big fan of Barbara Kingsolver and Isabelle Allende I will add this to my with list too.

  3. Quite an interesting cast of characters. Blogger buddy just moved from Guatemala after living there for two years and she loved it.

  4. You have such an eclectic collection of book posts! Thanks!

  5. What an interesting way to look at history - through the eyes of a few people who lived through it. Thanks for sharing, Mason.

  6. Great synopsis you provided for each. I always look forward to your new book you're sharing!

  7. I don't think there's any way to keep up with every book being published these days. Even if I worked at it full-time I'm sure I'd miss some. I do try though, I like to stay on top of the publishing business. Thanks.

  8. A captivating giveaway which interests me greatly. It is great to learn about new books but hard to know about all of them.

  9. Sounds like a book that I could actually learn from! I need to read more books like that.

  10. I usually keep up with Goodreads or by reading reviews on some of my favorite blogs!

  11. This sounds very very interesting!


I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.