Monday, February 1, 2016

The Daylight Marriage {+ Giveaway}

I’m delighted today to tell you that author Heidi Pitlor’s release, THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE, is now available in paperback.

Thanks to the lovely Jacquelynn at Algonquin, I have a print copy of the book to giveaway in celebration of its paperback release. Please see the end of the post for more giveaway details.

New York Times Book Review had this to say about the book, “[L]ikely to linger in the reader’s mind . . . a perfect microscope with which to examine the inexhaustible fascinations of marriage, and as Pitlor flashes between the day of Hannah’s disappearance and Lovell’s uneasy consideration of their past resentments, she finds a nice voice — thoughtful, lyrical, unforced."

Hailed as “a classic page-turner with just the right amount of human story behind it” (Everyday Ebook), THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE pulls readers into the chilling depths of its pages. In this novel, author Heidi Pitlor explores the dark effects of even the most seemingly harmless choices and how one impulsive decision can lead us down a path from which we may never return.

Pitlor knows the makings of a good story, as she is both the longtime editor of The Best American Short Stories series and the author of The Birthdays. With the release of Pitlor’s paperback edition of THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE, readers everywhere can delve even deeper into this “spellbinding novel of suspense” (Library Journal).

THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE tells the tale of the strikingly beautiful Hannah and her husband Lovell, an exceedingly practical climate scientist who seems focused on his career to the point of distraction. By day, their marriage appears strained in all of the usual ways (kids, money, and jealousy), but one morning, after a particularly brutal argument, a new light shines on their life- a garish light exposing “every secret-frustrations, weaknesses, ugliness” (Toronto Star) of their marriage.

It is this morning that Hannah disappears, and the novel spirals into two separate narratives. One narrative follows both Lovell and the police, as Lowell pieces together what has happened to his wife and his marriage and the police uncover clues to Hannah’s disappearance. The other story follows Hannah on that fateful day she left, when the smallest of decisions takes her to places she never intended to go. The result of this dual narrative is a captivating puzzle that reveals two very real mysteries: the whereabouts of a woman gone missing and the hidden depths of the human heart.

THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE will have readers at the edge of their seats, waiting with baited breath for the conclusion of this suspenseful tale, in a similar vein to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

With a riveting plot that doesn't reveal its secrets until the very last page, THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE is perfect book clubs, especially in its paperback edition. In THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE, Pitlor tells the very real tale of what happens when our intuitions override our logic and our lives are brought under the harsh scrutiny of day. 


Author Heidi Pitlor Photo Credit Aynsley Floyd HR
HEIDI PITLOR, author of the “undeniably gratifying” (Fred Leebron) The Birthdays, is also a former senior editor at Houghton Mifflin and the current annual series editor for The Best American Short Stories.

She lives outside Boston with her husband and their twin children.

Paperback release date: January 5, 2016
ISBN 978-1-61620-531-7
$15.95 paperback I 5.5 x 8.25 inches I 256 + 16 pages

Praise for The Daylight Marriage …..

          “Despite the acrid marriage, the his-and-hers narration, and the fact that Lovell quickly emerges as the primary suspect, this isn’t really another Gone Girl.  It’s more an exploration of the way that the tiniest and most impetuous of decisions can suddenly recast a person’s life.”— Entertainment Weekly
          “Beyond the novel’s taut suspense and subtle characterization, Pitlor’s vivid prose provides an additional pleasure. . . The novel’s suspense lasts right until its shocking climax, but the ‘messy, wonderful, excruciating lives’ of its characters linger in the mind long after the last page.”— The Boston Globe
          “Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will delight in this familiar tale. . .  The mystery will keep you on the edge of your beach chair, but the real attraction to this book is the author’s beautiful portrayal of a marriage in peril, of two people whose lives have become heartbreakingly ordinary, and how it forever altered their personalities.” – Coastal Living
          “This Stephen King-approved “hypnotically readable” novel involves a wife who’s vanished and a husband who’s trying to understand what’s happened, but it’s not just another Gone Girl.”— Health Magazine
          “Pitlor brings forth the emotions that surge beneath the surface with the precision and power of a conductor. . . This powerful analysis of how dreams become nightmares will make readers want to hold their loved ones close.”— Booklist (Starred Review)
          “Hypnotically readable--I absolutely couldn't put it down. The structure is brilliant, and I turned the pages with increasing dread. This book is terrific.” – Stephen King
          “The strength of The Daylight Marriage lies in its structure, coupled with a clear, piercing cadence in each sentence.”— Los Angeles Review of Books
          “In this captivating and emotionally stirring new mystery that, dare I say, may even be better than Gone Girl… A Riveting psychological thriller that let’s you work out your darkest fears with a gay twist? Yes, please!”—
          “Lovell Hall, a climate scientist, struggles to understand the violent forces of hurricanes  but forgets to attend to the rising emotional temperatures searing his own family. A moment of uncontained rage sets in motion a tragic vortex. Pitlor's novel is a page-turning exploration of unexpressed love and unnecessary loss. Riveting and heartbreaking.” -- Geraldine Brooks, author of Caleb's Crossing
          “In The Daylight Marriage, there are two mysteries—the whereabouts of a missing woman, and the vagaries of the human heart. Heidi Pitlor explores both of these enigmas with equal mastery, merging a shocking crime story with an incisive portrait of a failed marriage. The result is a novel that is fast-moving, emotionally complex, and ultimately heartbreaking.” — Tom Perrotta, author of Nine Inches


Thanks to Jacquelynn and the wonderful folks at Algonquin, I have a print copy of THE DAYLIGHT MARRIAGE by Heidi Pitlor to giveaway. The giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. only and will end at 12 a.m. (EST) on Tuesday, Feb. 9.

To enter, just click on the Rafflecopter widget below and following the instructions. The widget may take a few seconds to load so please be patient. A winner will be selected by the Rafflecopter widget and I’ll send an email with the subject line “Thoughts in Progress the Daylight Marriage Giveaway.” The winner will have 72 hours to reply to the email or another winner will be selected. PLEASE be sure to check your spam folder from time to time after the giveaway ends. If you win and you’ve already won the book somewhere else or you just decide for whatever reason you don’t want to win, once again PLEASE let me know.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope I’ve enticed you to check out this fascinating book. Do you prefer books in paperback or hardcover? Why is that your preference?

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I prefer paperbacks. They hurt less when they fall onto my face as I fall asleep.
    I loathed and detested both major protagonists from Gone Girl (both were truly woeful self-centred people), so I am very glad to hear that The Daylight Marriage hasn't been cloned from it.

  2. Thank you for bringing this book to my attention. Also, a huge thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I appreciate it. Have a wonderful week.

  3. Interesting it follows both main characters in that situation. Hope it's not like Gone Girl either.

  4. This book sounds so interesting. I prefer hard backed books so that I can prop, but I read a lot from my iPad (Kindle), too. And BTW, I prop it too in bed and it falls on my face just as good as the book can.

  5. Just visiting to wish you the happiest of Birthdays, Masy

  6. This sounds like a very intriguing plot line, Mason. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I remember noticing this one when it came out in hardcover. And I think I saw it at the library. Don't know if I've read many reviews. Anyway, it sounds good.

  8. Because of this review and all the other reviews I have read of this book, I am anxious to read it.

  9. Oh wow...the flowers on the cover catch your eye, don't they? Make you wonder what caused THAT to happen!

  10. Sounds a wee bit scary to me. But interesting just the same.

  11. I prefer paperback books since they are easier for my hands which are weak and arthritic. Thanks for this captivating and fascinating novel giveaway. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Sounds like an interesting book! I like that the mystery isn't solved until the last page (I'll have to keep from peeking!) I like both paperback and hardcover. I have been known to wait for a paperback to purchase only because they cost less unless it's an author I love and I can get a really good deal!


I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.