Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Love in Lowercase {+ Giveaway}



With Valentine’s Day fast-approaching, LOVE IN LOWERCASE by one of Spain’s most popular authors, Francesc Miralles, is the perfect read.

Since its Spanish debut, this international bestseller has been translated into twenty languages and has captured the hearts of fans across the literary map. In the tradition of The Rosie Project, The Guest Cat, and the movie Amelia, LOVE IN LOWERCASE (A Penguin Paperback Original) is the feel-good story of the year that celebrates the pleasure (and havoc) of life’s beautiful surprises. 

Thanks to Meredith and the wonderful folks at Penguin/Random House, I have a print copy of the book to giveaway. Please see the end of the post for more giveaway details.

I had the opportunity to review this charming book and before I finished, I also able to listen to the audio version. Having both formats was a joy. When I had a few minutes to relax, I could sit down with the book and enjoy the protagonist’s adventure. When I was busy doing other things, I could continue with the book by listening to the audio – the best of both worlds. Now here are my thoughts on the book.

LOVE IN LOWERCASE by Francesc Miralles

Cause and effect says a lot about LOVE IN LOWERCASE by Francesc Miralles, but the story offers so much more.

Narrator Scott Aiello does an excellent job bringing the various characters to life giving each a distinct voice. His cadence and pitch adds depth to this enchanting story. 

This delightful romantic comedy centers around pragmatic Samuel de Juan, a 37-year-old brainy loner, who believes nothing new will ever happen to him and is content his life is more or less half over. A chance meeting with a stray cat one morning leads Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, on a series of changes in his life that are most unexpected and life-changing.

Because of the cat (he names Mishima), Samuel is lead to meet Titus, his enigmatic neighbor. From there Samuel discovers his childhood love, Gabriela, and soon there are more people in Samuel’s life than ever before.

With a blend of classical music, linguistics and humor, the author creates a story that flows smoothly carrying readers/listeners on a magical journey of love and friendship The characters are well-developed and quite likable. Set in Barcelona, readers will get a feel for the area through the author’s rich descriptions.

A chain of events starts with a kind gesture to a persistent cat in this charming story. Cat lovers will cheer and non-cat owners may reconsider having a feline around. This is a heartwarming, quirky story that ends too quickly.

Love in Lowercase by Francesc Miralles, Penguin Books, @2016, ISBN: 978-0143128212, Paperback, 240 Pages 

Narrated by Scott Aiello, Penguin Audio, @2016, ASIN: BO1AO50WRQ, Unabridged, Digital Download, Run Time: 5 Hours and 15 Minutes 

FTC Full Disclosure – Copies of this book were sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copies did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Author Francesc Miralles.credit Yan Pekar
Francesc Miralles is an award-winning author who has written a number of bestselling books. Born in Barcelona, he studied journalism, English literature, and German, and has worked as an editor, a translator, a ghost-writer, and a musician.

GIVEAWAY DETAILS:

Thanks to Meredith and the wonderful folks at Penguin/Random House, I have a print copy of LOVE IN LOWERCASE by Francesc Miralles to giveaway. The giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. only and will end at 12 a.m. (EST) on Thursday, Feb. 18.

To enter, just click on the Rafflecopter widget below and following the instructions. The widget may take a few seconds to load so please be patient. A winner will be selected by the Rafflecopter widget and I’ll send an email with the subject line “Thoughts in Progress Love in Lowercase Giveaway.” The winner will have 72 hours to reply to the email or another winner will be selected. PLEASE be sure to check your spam folder from time to time after the giveaway ends. If you win and you’ve already won the book somewhere else or you just decide for whatever reason you don’t want to win, once again PLEASE let me know.

Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope I’ve enticed you to check out this fascinating story and/or enter the giveaway. Do you believe in cause and effect? Do you think one action can lead to a chain of events?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 comments:

  1. I am always intrigued at the number of audio books you read. It is a format I have not (yet) explored...

    ReplyDelete
  2. And it's written by a guy. He's obviously a lot more romantic than I am.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The title of this one is really clever, Mason. And it sounds uplifting, too. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The story sounds adorable. Usually you see stories about a dog bringing people together, so it's refreshing to see a cat do that.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds like a delightful read!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book would be memorable, captivating and lovely since it is unique and charming. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Yes to cause and effect. Think before you say or do. Bobbipad at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love audio books. This one sounds very sweet. It's remarkable what a pet or a friend can do for your life!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Sounds like a fun read. I'm the owner of three cats, so the feline aspect of this makes it that much more appealing!

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.