Tuesday, January 22, 2019

One Fatal Mistake


Thanks for dropping by today. I want to showcase a fascinating new book hitting the bookstands today.

In ONE FATAL MISTAKE by Tom Hunt (January 22), a major new talent delivers his second nail-biting thriller about a hit-and-run, and a lie that goes terribly wrong.

For fans of Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Joseph Finder comes a tightly-coiled, one-sit read about a terrible accident on the backroads of Iowa. In Tom’s second book, what begins with a dead body in a forest snowballs into a situation more twisted and tangled with each passing moment.

When eighteen-year-old Joshua Mayo takes a man’s life in a horrible accident, he leaves the scene without reporting the crime to the police. He hopes to put the awful night behind him and move on with his life. But he ends up telling his mother everything. 

Karen has raised Joshua on her own in Cedar Rapids, Iowa—and she’d thought they’d finally made it. He was doing well in school and was only months from starting college. After hearing his dark confession, she is forced to make a choice no parent should have to make, one that draws them both into a web of deceit that will change their lives forever—if they make it out alive.... 

The author is an Iowa native who expertly captures the isolation—and all the opportunity for crime that comes with it—just outside Cedar Rapids.

In Killer Choice, Hunt’s first book, he wrote about a woman diagnosed with cancer, and the husband who goes to extreme lengths to save her. Similarly, in ONE FATAL MISTAKE, we begin with a situation that could happen to anyone. You’re out on the road in the middle of the night, and through no fault of your own, you hit someone. No one is around to witness it. What do you do next?

Here’s what people had to say about Tom’s first book, KILLER CHOICE.

 “Terrific . . . full of shocks and twists you won’t see coming—unputdownable and highly recommended!”— LEE CHILD, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“A promising debut with a Hitchcockian hookKiller Choice is a terrific, cinematic read.” — WILLIAM LANDAYNew York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob
          “A sharply-crafted debut thriller that fans of Harlan Coben will devour . . . masterfully ratchets the suspense until your fingers can’t turn the pages fast enough.” — GRANT BLACKWOODNew York Times bestselling author of Tom Clancy Duty and Honor
          “This outstanding domestic suspense debut by an award-winning advertising copywriter is at once complex and direct. . . Recommended for fans of fast-paced thrillers that pose moral dilemmas (Lee Child, Harlan Coben, Joseph Finder). A real nail-biter.”BOOKLIST, STARRED review
          “Fans of Harlan Coben or Mary Kubica will want to add this promising author to their lineup of favorites.”— LIBRARY JOURNAL
[D]raws inspiration from excellent sources—Harlan Coben, Scott Smith, Alfred Hitchcock—while posing an age-old question: How far would a person go to save a loved one?”—HOUSTON CHRONICLE
          “Hunt has taken a moral thought-experiment—how far would you go to save a person you loved—and spun it into a fast-paced first novel.”— CEDAR RAPIDS GAZETTE

Sounds like a captivating second story, as well as an enticing first one. What are your thoughts on this tantalizing new thriller? Thanks again for stopping by. Sorry I haven’t been online this month, but I will be back soon. Take care!

7 comments:

  1. What an appalling situation - for mother and son. And, of course for the person that Joshua hit. It sounds intriguing - and heart breaking.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like one bad choice after another...

    ReplyDelete
  3. This does sound compelling, Mason. I like the idea of exploring the characters as well as the death itself. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I LOVE that title! Sounds like the story is just as good.

    Teresa

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sadly I bet she doesn't do the right thing.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This does sound like a captivating story!

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.