Friday, June 3, 2011

Archaeology, Templar Knights, And A Giveaway

Do stories that deal with archaeology, lost treasure, and Templar Knights have a great appeal to you?

They draw my interest quickly. Who doesn’t dream of finding a lost fortune or a valuable treasure hidden in an attic or buried in their backyard? Thanks to Alexandra and the good folks at Penguin, I have a book giveaway today featuring the adventures of an archaeologist and an Army Ranger. Be sure to check the end of the post for the giveaway guidelines.

Paul Christopher, the New York Times bestselling author of THE TEMPLAR CONSPIRACY (Signet Mass Market; June 7, 2011; $9.99), delivers a new thrilling mystery that confronts the Templar’s dark past, and weaves together the lives of two friends who are bound together by the discovery of terrifying secrets that could affect their lives forever. THE TEMPLAR LEGION is the fifth installment in Christopher’s Templar series featuring Army Ranger John Holliday.

Here’s a brief synopsis of the book:
John Holliday has just begun teaching at the Alabama Military Academy when his friend, archaeologist Rafi Wanounou comes back with the news of an intriguing find. While researching the origins of Ethiopian Jews near Lake Tana, Rafi’s archaeological dig led him to discover the tomb of Julian de La Roche-Guillaume, a 14th century Templar knight. Lying next to the body, Rafi finds an ancient clay tablet written in Viking Runes. This strange discovery intrigues Holliday—why would a Viking artifact be stowed away next to the body of a French Templar Knight, the two separated by four hundred years of history? And what brought the two together in a remote land like Ethiopia?
 
Determined to solve this mystery, Holliday and Rafi follow a trail of clues that will lead them to the Horn of Africa. The two men risk their lives to uncover a mysterious plot rooted in centuries of Templar Secrecy, and to rediscover a treasure hidden from the world for nearly a thousand years.

 
For fans of Raymond Khoury and Dan Brown, THE TEMPLAR LEGION will not disappoint. The author has written several other Templar novels, including THE TEMPLAR CROSS which was the first title to make the printed New York Times list.

Onto the giveaway. To enter this giveaway, send me an e-mail (mcbookshelf@gmail.com). Your subject line should read, “Win THE TEMPLAR LEGION.” Your message should include your name and mailing address. The contest is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only and no post office box addresses can be accepted. Just so you know, I don’t share the mailing information or use it for any other purpose. The deadline to enter this giveaway for a chance to win a copy of THE TEMPLAR LEGION will be 8 p.m. (EST) on Sunday, June 12.


So share your thoughts on stories of archaeologists, the Templar Knights, and hidden treasure. Do you enjoy a certain book or series based on these things?

8 comments:

  1. Hi Mason .. this book sounds fascinating .. I love these stories built into history, which as they unravel we can learn so much .. this book certainly covers eras, and geographical regions, as well as a lot of historical lore ..

    Great to know about - thanks for the stimulating review .. have a good weekend .. Hilary

    ReplyDelete
  2. Mason - Oh, now history fascinates me! Always has! There's not just the history aspect here, either; it's also a mystery. Very cool!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Mason, I love archaeology. My dad use to be into it some and even went on a dig once. The history attached is always amazing. This book sounds amazing.

    Have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I don't like conspiracy thrillers and such books, but I do adore anything historical, including templars!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hi Mason,
    I do enjoy books about the Templars. This one sounds good, as does the first one. I'll have to check them out now.
    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Templars are always fascinating subjects.
    Happy Weekend, Mason.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh, I love stories like this!

    I'm going to have to check this series out for sure.

    Thanks, Mason. I've been hankering for a good thriller/adventure story to read.

    Sia McKye's Thoughts...OVER COFFEE

    ReplyDelete
  8. I absolutely must win this book. I love stories about the Knights Templar. I have the Templar Cross sticker on my car. I loved the Templar trilogy written by Jack Whyte.

    pboylecharley(At)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.