Saturday, December 26, 2009

January's Schedule and Book Giveaways

Can a person ever have too many books?

I don’t think so. You may have too many books for the space you have, but never too many books!

Thinking along the lines of space allowance and modern technology, I’ve included a link to a contest two authors - Anya Bast and Lauren Dance - are hosting. Their contest ends Jan. 5. I’m sure you’ve noticed the new widget on the right-hand side of the blog for the chance to win a free Nook. Click on either site ( or to enter the contest, as well as enter daily contests for free books.

As I said, you can never have too many books so I’m sharing some more book giveaways. Thanks to Anna and the folks at Hachette Book Group I have five copies of each of the following four books to giveaway. Here are the books and the giveaway guidelines.

“The Survivors Club, The Secret and Science that Could Save your Life” by Ben Sherwood. The paperback contains 400 pages. (ISBN: 978044669886).

Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?
Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?
The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.
With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.
There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.

This giveaway will deadline at 6 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Jan. 14. To enter send an e-mail to with “Survivors Club” in the subject line and include your name and address. This giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only. Sorry, no P.O. boxes accepted.

“Sleep No More” by Susan Crandall. This romance novel contains 400 pages. (ISBN: 9780446556842).

The night was always Abby Whitman's enemy. As a young girl she walked in her sleep, and one night, she started a fire that scarred her sister for life and left Abby with unbearable guilt . . . and a loneliness that echoes within her. Now Abby has begun blacking out again-with apparently fatal results. A car accident has killed the son of a prominent family. Even though the evidence seems to exonerate her, Abby is plagued by doubts-and soon by mysterious threats. Psychiatrist Dr. Jason Coble is intrigued by Abby and offers to help her explore the dark recesses of her mind. Through this terrifying journey, Jason's interest turns to passion, and he yearns to give her the love she craves. But first, Abby must trust him-and shed light on secrets that will rock this Southern town and reveal a danger that threatens them both.
Susan Crandall makes her home in Noblesville, Indiana. This is her eighth novel.

This giveaway ends at 6 p.m. (EST) on Saturday, Jan. 16. To enter send an e-mail to with “Sleep No More” in the subject line and include your name and address. This giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only. Sorry, no P.O. boxes accepted.

“Love in 90 Days, The Essential Guide to Finding Your Own True Love” by Dr. Diana Kirschner, PhD. This paperback contains 368 pages. (ISBN: 9781599951232).

Finding true love is possible in just 90 days. Renowned clinical psychologist, Dr. Diana Kirschner, uses the latest research, clinical and personal experience to show you how. Dr. Diana knows the questions single women everywhere face: "Why am I attracted to the wrong kind of guys?" "Why is he just not that into me?" "Why can't I seem to find the One?" She also knows the unconscious mistakes that women make over and over again in love-regardless of age, work success, or the type of men they are dating.
Over the years Dr. Diana has received countless inquiries from single women about writing a how-to guide on her work. Love in 90 Days: The Essential Guide to Finding Your Own True Love is that book.
Love in 90 Days is fun, savvy and based on the latest research on singles, online dating and healthy relationships. Loaded with step-by-step instructions, checklists, and weekly homework assignments, this revolutionary love book is also an intensely personal journey for each reader. Love in 90 Days guides you along your own path towards self discovery with proven and effective dating advice and tough love. Dr. Diana dispels common misconceptions about love relationships and dating, and share personal stories from women who have successfully completed the Love in 90 Days Program. There's also a chapter devoted to the special issues faced by African-American women, single mothers, and women forty-five and older.

This giveaway will deadline at 6 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Jan. 19. To enter send an e-mail to with “Love in 90 Days” in the subject line and include your name and address. This giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only. Sorry, no P.O. boxes accepted.

“Corked, A Memoir” by Katherine Borel. This autobiography hardcover novel contains 272 pages. (ISBN: 9780446409506).

Meet Kathryn Borel, bon vivant and undutiful daughter. Now meet her father, Philippe, former chef, eccentric genius, and wine aficionado extraordinaire. Kathryn is like her father in every way but one: she's totally ignorant when it comes to wine. And although Philippe has devoted untold parenting hours to delivering impassioned oenological orations, she has managed to remain unenlightened. But after an accident and a death, Kathryn realizes that by shutting herself off to her father's greatest passion, she will never really know him. Accordingly, she proposes a drunken father-daughter road trip. Corked is the uncensored account of their tour through the great wine regions of France. Uproarious, poignant, painfully introspective, and filled with cunning little details about wine, this is a book for any reader who has sought a connection with a complex family member or wanted to overcome the paralyzing terror of being faced with a restaurant wine list.

This giveaway ends at 6 p.m. (EST) on Saturday, Jan. 23. To enter send an e-mail to with “Corked” in the subject line and include your name and address. This giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only. Sorry, no P.O. boxes accepted.

The month of January is looking quite interesting with a number of guest bloggers dropping by, as well as several reviews scheduled. In addition, I hope to add a few other guest bloggers to the list for January or possible February.

The events scheduled for January include:

Wednesday, Jan. 6 - a review of “Heart of Courage” by John Tippets.

Wednesday, Jan. 6 - “Seduced by a Rogue” by Amanda Scott tour begins. I’ll be hosting a giveaway here on “Thoughts in Progress” for her book (more details to come).

Thursday, Jan. 7 - Jackie Griffey, author of “The Devil in Merrivale,” will be a special guest blogger.

Tuesday, Jan. 12 - Ingrid King, author of "Buckley's Story," will be a special guest blogger.

Thursday, Jan. 14 - Dot Ryan, author of "Corrigan's Pool," will be a special guest blogger.

Friday, Jan. 15 - a review of “Corrigan’s Pool” by Dot Ryan.

Monday, Jan. 18 - Sherrill Bodine, author of “A Black Tie Affair,” will be a special guest blogger and will be giving away five copies of her new book.

Wednesday, Jan. 20 - Kim Smith, author of “Buried Angel,” will be a special guest blogger.

Tuesday, Jan. 26 - Dolen Perkins-Valdez, author of "Wench" will be a special guest blogger.

Wednesday, Jan. 27 - a review of "Wench" by Dolen Perkins-Valdez.

Thursday, Jan. 28 - Jennifer (JB) Stanley, author of "Stirring Up Strife" will be a special guest blogger.

Friday, Jan. 29 - Elizabeth Spann Craig, author of "Pretty is as Pretty Dies" will be a special guest blogger.

Saturday, Jan. 30 - Terry Spear, author of "To Tempt the Wolf," will be a special guest blogger.

Sunday, Jan. 31 - Marvin Wilson, also known as The Old Silly and author of a number of books, will be making an appearance here.

How is your January looking? Would you like to be a guest blogger or provide your book for a giveaway on “Thoughts in Progress?” Just let me know. I’m always looking for interesting books and informative authors to feature.

Sorry this post was lengthy, but there was lots I wanted to share.


  1. January looks like an exciting month on your blog, Mason! Something to look forward to after the holidays.

  2. Mason - This really does look like an interesting and action-packed month! Thanks for offering all the giveaways, too : ).

  3. I'm excited about the coming month's events, Ingrid. I've only hosted one guest blogger so far and it was interesting. I'm looking forward to the ones I have listed, as well as any others that might want to guest blog.

    I hope I don't turn readers away with no many giveaways, Margot. But at the same time I want to share books that are available.

  4. What a great line-up! Your blog is really rocking...

    Mystery Writing is Murder

  5. Thanks for the kind words, Elizabeth. Hoping to keep it entertaining.

  6. Looking forward to a great month - you've got a lot going on!

  7. Thanks Jemi. Hope to keep it interesting.

  8. Impressive lineup! Love what you do here on this blog. Hey sure, I'd LOVE to do a guest post/feature here sometime. You can contact me off blog at marvwilson2020 at gmail dot com if you're interested.

    The Old Silly

  9. Sounds great Marvin. I'll be in touch about that guest post.

  10. Mason,
    You have quite a busy month planned. And good reviews and guest bloggers lined up. And I love your Music. Kenny G is a favorite of mine. I also love the Native American flutes. I love your Cats picture too.

  11. Thanks diva donna for the kind words and stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the music. I thought it might be relaxing to listen to while reading.

  12. Oh my goodness, what an organized person you are! Quite impressive! Looking forward to a month of Thoughts in Progress.


  13. Oh Michele, organized is not one thing I've ever been called. But thanks for the thought. :) Hope you enjoy.

  14. Looks like a great month, gret tings to come!

  15. Susan, I think it will be. Be sure and check back often to see what's going on.

  16. Mason, the google alerts have begun :P and I found your post. I am very excited to be a part of this site. It is one AWESOME blog! thanks so much !

  17. Yes, it is a great looking line up.


I'd love to hear your thoughts on today's post. Thanks for dropping by.